Logic, Flowcharts, and Coding

“Binary code” by Christiaan Colen is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

When asked the most important thing I should teach my students, the MIT student I was interviewing simply stated , ‘ teach them logic.’ – Mr. Le Duc

SUMMARY

  • Write your weekly summary here, last, at the end of the week…
    • Only one to two sentences
  • DELETE ALL OF MR. LE DUC’s INSTRUCTIONS, AFTER YOU ARE DONE

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

PlayCanvas

Screenshot from Sololearn.com

The lastest lesson I completed today was “Overview- Comments in Javascript”.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image from https://monkeyblogmonkeydo.com/2010/07/19/so-duh-pop-quiz-classic-video-game-flowchart-edition/

 Chicken Little Game Logic Flowchart

Screenshot from Brandon Grasley’s youtube channel.

Creating a Simple Flowchart in Diagrams.net (Draw.io) Tutorial

Screenshot from the TodayTuts youtube channel.
  • The game can have more than one path
  • Flowchart shapes meanings:
  • Ovals mean start and end
  • Parallelograms mean stored/data values
  • Diamonds mean those are decision-making points
  • Square/rectangle means it’s a process
  • A shape with a curved side and a straight side is the flowchart symbol for delay

Mr. Le Duc’s Flowchart Shape Guide

More Flowchart Creation Resources

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

My Flowchart

I learned how to create a flowchart and what all of the different shapes mean.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

Elizabeth Gilbert discuss creativity and genius

  • Somehow we have accepted this notion that creativity and suffering are somehow linked
  • Ancient Grece and Ancient Rome people did not believe that creativity came from humans
  • They believed that creativity was a spirit that came to humans from some unknowable source
  • The Greeks called the spirit Damon and the Romans called it a Genius
  • Society wants us to be controlled and be unpredictable
  • Creativity is wild and free and the layers of conditioning suppress​ it so when someone is creative they don’t fit.

STUDIO (GAME DESIGN)

Unity

Screenshot from Unity.com

I ended on “Starting the development”.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

I learned the basics of Javascript and Unity. The thing I enjoyed the most was creating the flowchart. Seeing my ideas in a visual way really helped me. A problem that I solved was, my power went out on Wednesday and I was in the middle of writing my blog and it disappeared. Everything got de; let but I didn’t panic and I rewrote my blog adding on a few more things.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

The survey is complete.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *